Rochen Host Customer Forums  

Go Back   Rochen Customer Forums > Public Forums > Pre-Sales Questions

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th February 2015, 11:21 PM   #1
yaani
Rochen Community Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Coppell, TX
Posts: 3
Reseller Account / Name Server Question

Hi,

I currently have a reseller account with a company that got bought by EIG. I would like to move now.

All the sites I host have their name servers pointing to NS1.mywebdesigncompanyname.com & NS2.mywebdesigncompanyname.com (I am just using that name as an example)

If I sign up for a Rochen reseller account & use mywebdesigncompanyname.com as the primary domain name for the account, can I slowly move all my websites to the new rochen reseller account or will they all now automatically point to the new rochen reseller account & have errors because the site files & databases haven't been moved yet?

Thank you
yaani is offline  
Old 12th February 2015, 08:39 PM   #2
Chris
Rochen Staff
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12,558
Thanks for your post

If you use the same primary domain name (e.g. mywebdesigncompanyname.com) as your current reseller plan then you will need to transition all accounts over and then update the IP addresses associated with ns1.mywebdesigncompanyname.com and ns2.mywebdesigncompanyname.com.

If you wish to migrate things over in stages the easiest route to go would be to use a new primary domain name when opening the reseller account with Rochen. You can then register the new name servers right away and as you transition accounts over update the name servers for those domains to point to the new name servers.

Please let us know if we can be of any further help.
__________________
Chris Adams Rochen Ltd. chris@rochen.com
- Reseller Web Hosting Plans & Multiple Domain Solutions
- www.rochen.com

Follow Rochen on Twitter @rochenhost
Chris is offline  
Old 12th February 2015, 08:41 PM   #3
MikeS
Rochen Community Member
 
MikeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 4,352
If you change the nameserver on a domain record (or the nameserver IP's in this case), AND it's valid nameserver, then as soon as the DNS tables are updated the domain will point to the new nameserver....so your second "question" is the correct assumption

Oops, look like Chris has already responded, sorry.
__________________
Until you've driven a modern diesel of this calibre, you just won't get it!

Last edited by MikeS; 12th February 2015 at 08:44 PM.
MikeS is offline  
Old 12th February 2015, 08:44 PM   #4
Chris
Rochen Staff
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12,558
Thanks Mike!
__________________
Chris Adams Rochen Ltd. chris@rochen.com
- Reseller Web Hosting Plans & Multiple Domain Solutions
- www.rochen.com

Follow Rochen on Twitter @rochenhost
Chris is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06 AM.


2000 2015 Rochen Limited. All Rights Reserved. Prices Exclude VAT.